Learning & Development

Children under 5 are constantly at crucial stages in their development, and their early experiences lay the foundation for their future. We provide a caring and stimulating environment in which each child can develop physically, intellectually, emotionally, socially and culturally, within the framework of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS).

The EYFS Framework explains how and what your child will be learning to support their healthy development.
Your child will be learning skills, acquiring new knowledge and demonstrating their understanding through 7 areas of learning and development which are divided into Prime and Specific Areas.

Children should mostly develop the 3 prime areas first. These are:

  • Communication and language;
  • Physical development; and
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

These prime areas are those that are considered by childcare experts as being the most essential for your child’s healthy development and future learning.

As children progress and achieve in the prime areas they will continue to develop skills which will lead them into the 4 specific areas. These are:

  • Literacy;
  • Mathematics;
  • Understanding the world; and
  • Expressive arts and design.

These 7 areas are used to plan your child’s learning and activities. The professionals teaching and supporting your child will make sure that the activities are suited to your child’s unique needs. This is a little bit like a curriculum in primary and secondary schools, but it’s suitable for very young children, and it’s designed to be really flexible so that staff can follow your child’s unique needs and interests. The information of your child’s progress and achievement along with photographs are stored in individual portfolios. These portfolios are designed not only to be informative but also as a keepsake for the parents.